blown away

4 01 2008

explosion1.jpg

work was hectic today but i’ve had kutless’ “strong tower” stuck in my head all day. check it out if you have a chance, because it’s awesome. here’s what the song’s words are:

When I wander through the desert
And I’m longing for my home
All my dreams have gone astray
When I’m stranded in the valley
And I’m tired and all alone
It seems like I’ve lost my way
Chorus:
I go running to Your mountain
Where Your mercy sets me free
You are my strong tower, shelter over me
Beautiful and mighty everlasting King
You are my strong tower, fortress when I’m weak
Your name is true and holy
And Your face is all I see
In the middle of all my darkness
In the midst of all my fear
You’re my refuge and my hope
When the storm of life is raging
And the thunders all I hear
You speak softly to my soul
Chorus:
Now I’m running to Your mountain
Where Your mercy sets me free
You are my strong tower, shelter over me
Beautiful and mighty everlasting King
You are my strong tower, fortress when I’m weak
Your name is true and holy
And Your face is all I see
And Your face is all I see
Yeah, Your face is all I see

but all day i had can’tremembertheexactwordsivitus and so all i had was “you are my strong tower, fortress when i’m weak” and it came again and again, and after the appointment with the doctor i was humming it all the way to the car, through the noisy last-ditch haggling of the market vendors.

market.jpg

markets are great. they’re smelly and overcrowded most of the time, but it’s an aliveplace and pulsing with the sounds and colours of a thousand different stalls touting a thousand different things. but through that all, there were those words of life, and although i don’t know any other songs by kutless off the top of my head, i was awestruck. there was a lot of noise, but the importance of the words seemed to cut through it, like the vision narrows to the immediate surroundings when you’re really focused. the women stopped speaking, the vendors stopped shouting, the carts stopped creaking, the various types of chickens stopped squawking, and the environment hushed until all that could be heard was the silence that spoke of security. being still, and knowing that God is in charge… nice.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

