What a day!

20 01 2008

It was a glorious day today, and there was a song during worship this morning that touched my heart and sent chills through me with the simplicity of its message:

Is it true today that when people pray
Cloudless skies will break
Kings and queens will shake
Yes it’s true and I believe it
I’m living for you
Is it true today that when people pray
We’ll see dead men rise
And the blind set free
Yes it’s true and I believe it
I’m living for you
I’m gonna be a history maker in this land
I’m gonna be a speaker of truth to all mankind
I’m gonna stand, I’m gonna run
Into your arms, into your arms again
Into your arms, into your arms again

Well it’s true today that when people stand
With the fire of God, and the truth in hand
We’ll see miracles, we’ll see angels sing
We’ll see broken hearts making history
Yes it’s true and I believe it
We’re living for you

It’s called ‘History Maker’ and it’s by Delirious? I was speechless with the beauty of it for a moment. The sacrifice that Jesus made on the cross enables us to come freely, and to do “greater things” (John 14:12) in this world. I really believe it. All those things and more can be accomplished through prayer, and when we truly believe this, great things are going to happen. And it’ll be beautiful.

I saw the image below, called ‘Hasidim in Praise’ on Bonnie Baird Mitchell’s website and it made me smile.

hadisimpraise.jpg

To see people just praising in the streets in total abandonment is something I would seriously love to see. Definitely something I’d love to participate in too. When I saw the image, I remembered the worship times I really loved when I first became a Christian, and how at SNA we’d just dance around like maniacs… singing ‘I Could Sing Of Your Love Forever’ at hyper-speed and how jumping around gave a meaning to the line, “and they will dance with joy like we’re dancing now” that couldn’t be merely explained. Worship is one of the first ways we get to know the love of God in a real, tangible way. And it’s often the first time we realise the love that yearns to express itself within our hearts is the echo of God that was put in us when we were first created.

And to close, some old school SNA-era worship that I loved a lot. ‘Holiness’ by Sonicflood:

Holiness, holiness is what I long for.
Holiness is what I need.
Holiness, holiness is what You want from me. 
Take my heart and form it.
Take my mind and transform it.
Take my will and conform it.
To Yours, to Yours, oh, Lord.
Faithfulness, faithfulness is what I long for.
Faithfulness is what I need.
Faithfulness, faithfulness is what You want from me.

Brokenness, brokenness is what I long for.
Brokenness is what I need.
Brokenness, brokenness is what You want from me.

Take my heart and form it.
Take my mind and transform it.
Take my will and conform it.
To Yours, to Yours, oh, Lord.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

