Something come to light

1 02 2008

It bothers me that it takes a little something sometimes to remind us of the things that are important to us. Two things came to light today:

  1. I’ve not been crediting the images I’ve been putting on here, which were all from Google images, with key words typed in and then selected by me. Needless to say I’ll be crediting from now on. Usually, I’m so careful about plagiarism, but I just haven’t. What a fool. The website the image is taken from will be saved in the name of the image, so I don’t hog bandwidth.
  2. God doesn’t care where we come from, only that we know who we are in Him. And that’s astounding – that He could still look past all that history, all those lies we’ve told, all the fights we’ve had, and all the things we’ve ever done, which we may or may not regret doing, and still love us enough to bring us to an awareness of Him.

Tomorrow we’re up at Solid Rock again, and I’ve looked forward to it all week. The doc says that I shouldn’t stop doing the things that I love, and this is one of them. There have been moments when I’ve not wanted to be there, and I’ve not wanted to be there, but somehow God always gives me the grace to love what He needs me to love. He does the same for us every day; causing us to love the things we have been made to love. This, of course, does not include those things we may think we love, and which ultimately hurt us, but the things that bring Him glory, and the things that He has caused us to love. Like Him.

There’s an article in this issue of Psychology Todaywhich cites the information collected by Bruce Grierson about people who have conversion experiences, either to or from God, or to or from something else. And this is what I find beautiful, that God would be big enough to let us choose whether we love Him or not, and whether we want to come to Him, or turn our backs on Him. And He lets us choose. Why? Why would God just sit back, so to speak, and let His children choose, when He knows very well that sometimes, His children will choose the other. And the moment one of His children consciously chooses Him, it’s an amazing starburst of joy that happens.

The Meaning of God poem
There is an indefinable mysterious Power that pervades everything.
I feel It, though I do not see It.
It is this unseen Power which makes Itself felt and yet defies all proof,
because It is so unlike all that I perceive through my senses.
It transcends the senses….
That informing Power or Spirit is God….
For I can see that in the midst of death life persists,
in the midst of untruth, truth persists,
in the midst of darkness light persists.
Hence I gather that God is Life, Truth, Light. He is love.
He is supreme good.
But he is no God who merely satisfies the intellect if He ever does.
God to be God must rule the heart and transform it.
-M. K. Gandhi
 (Young India, October 11, 1928)

flydownloaddotcom.jpg

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

