Just taking a break from writing that midterm paper

9 03 2008

But I’m also taking a break from Christian music because I can’t stand the softness of it right now. I don’t know why; just that it annoys me that so much of it seems irrelevant, and so much of it is so pretty and soft and unreal.

I’ve been having OneRepublic on repeat in iTunes, and that’s been good, but I’m getting bored fast. Can’t wait for work tomorrow! Ugh.

During this weekend, when I’ve been on/off writing the paper, I’ve also read quite a few things:

  • too many articles on Borat, Sacha Baron Cohen, humour, film analysis, critical reviews, testimonies of people suing Sacha Baron Cohen for defamatory effects of the film, ecstatic reviews of the film… ad infinitum;
  • academic writing set in the Film and Popular Culture class;
  • Maggie O’Farrell’s The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox, which was one of the better things I’ve read this year so far; and
  • Jill Mansell’s Staying At Daisy’s which was light fluffy reading, but fun.

I have to get back to the paper. When I’ve died, you’ll find my fingers cemented to the keyboard, and I’ll still be 3/4 of the way through this midterm on the circulation of cultures in a discussion of Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan. Yeah, it’s not so funny when you’ve spent the better part of a week reading things and writing the paper for class tomorrow.

onebeandotcom.gif
Actions

Information

4 responses

11 03 2008
Ling

oh, dear, how come you could still have time for all the above readings?? you’re crazy!!!!!

11 03 2008
vanessamanchester

Haha you see, that’s what you can do when you’re procrastinating… In other words, doing anything that isn’t what you’re supposed to be doing. It will stretch the hours you have until it seems like eternity… 🙂

Good seeing you tonight 😉 What did you think of the lecture?

16 03 2008
Ling

i was the 2nd last to enter the class so not much time for me to think of the lecture, esp when i was still worrying about the paper at that moment. you know, i just made it in time. =_=”

um…actually i’ve researched quite a bit on Disney in my last term paper on Cinema, so not really stunned by the presentation. some of her recommended readings had been my references too. in fact Disney’s brand image has been bad for long i bet. but Dr Szeto’s “image” did interest me. look at her dress~ it’s real fun! she’s kind of special among the intellectuals i know. most often they would be more like Dr. Yau i suppose 😛

17 03 2008
vanessamanchester

Yeah I get what you mean. It’s been quite stressful, trying to balance work with class with life in turn. It’s a wonder we’re not crazy yet…! Or maybe some of us are, already… 😛

Unfortunately, I haven’t yet had a chance to meet Dr. Yau. I’m guessing Wednesday will be eye-opening for me. Dr. Szeto is an interesting person – I agree. I’m sure she is also, like Sophia says, the kind of person who spends happy hour in bars in SoHo talking about work and her research 🙂

Leave a Reply

