Ah, poetry

30 03 2008

Because being the way we were made to be is a beautiful thing, and something that makes us smile, and feel right with the world… the poem is something of the way I feel tonight, and sums up some of what I’ve been thinking about over the course of this week. There have been bad times, but there have also been the fresh breezes of knowing who God is to me, and what He does in my life, every day.

I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud
I wandered lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host, of golden daffodils;
Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

Continuous as the stars that shine
And twinkle on the milky way,
They stretched in never-ending line
Along the margin of a bay:
Ten thousand saw I at a glance,
Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.

The waves beside them danced; but they
Out-did the sparkling waves in glee;
A poet could not but be gay,
In such a jocund company;
I gazed—and gazed—but little thought
What wealth the show to me had brought:

For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils.
– William Wordsworth (1770 – 1850)

ndesign-studiodotcom.jpg

And speaking of the way we were made, I’ve not been listening to Christian music recently because it’s been really bothering me, but this song by Chris Tomlin still touches me:

Caught in the half-light, I’m caught alone
Waking up to the sunrise and the radio
Feels like I’m tied up, what’s holding me?
Just praying today will be the day I go free

I want to live like there’s no tomorrow
I want to dance like no one’s around
I want to sing like nobody’s listening
Before I lay my body down
I want to give like I have plenty
I want to love like I’m not afraid
I want to be the man I was meant to be
I want to be the way I was made

Made in Your likeness, made with Your hands
Made to discover who You are and who I am
All I’ve forgotten help me to find
All that You’ve promised let it be in my life

And the line, “made to discover who You are and who I am” resonates within me because that’s what I yearn for: to know who I am in God’s creation, in relation to Him, and who He is.

Love God
Love people
Follow Jesus

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

