Monday, Monday

7 04 2008

It really frustrates me that people will call on the phone, and then basically say that they’ll check what they’re asking about, and then call back. What I really want to know is this: why don’t they just check it before even calling? I know that it doesn’t take much time to get up, answer a call, and then sit down again, but it’s been like this all morning. And I’m tired, in more ways than seventeen.

But I was listening to a Mars Hill podcast this afternoon called ‘Boasting Will Abound’ (23/3/08) and what really hit me, and shook up my view of God was this:

“Resurrection is about history headed somewhere. Resurrection is about the grace of God being real and nobody is outside of it. Resurrection is also about hope… Resurection is the opposite of depair. Resurrection is the belief that no matter how dark it gets, no matter how long it’s been since you last saw the horizon… Resurrection is the belief that at some point, you will see land… all of creation will see land. Resurrection is the belief that God hasn’t given up on this world, despite all evidence to the contrary…”

The beauty of this is that it’s so often that I feel like I’m alone in this struggle, that I’m going to drown in it all, but I have forgotten that the grace of God will reach me no matter where I go, because as Charleszetta Waddles said, “God knows no distance.” It is also the way that God just surprises me all the time with newness, and beauty, and things become bearable again.

I just wish I heard back from them, that’s all.

But verse of the day is Psalm 139:9-10:

If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

