Mercy…

28 05 2008

This morning, I was talking with a student about the earthquake in Sichuan province in China, which is so close to us. There was a news story recently about a teacher who, upon feeling the first tremors of the earthquake, ran out of the school and was the first person to appear on the playground of the school. When her students exited the school, they asked her, “Why didn’t you come back for us?”

Since the story came to light, she has written an explanation on the Internet, saying that she is human too, and why are people judging her on the basis of her vocation. I would be devastated if my students had cause to ask the same question of me.

But I wonder what I would do in that situation. I would like to think that I would unquestioningly sacrifice my life for these students under my care, but the truth is that when the moment actually arrives, I don’t know what I would do. Instinct kicks in, one would think.

What would my instinct be?

And I was reading on a blog this afternoon that we are, at one time or another, someone’s ‘doorknob.’ It really made me think. I wonder whose doorknob I am, and whether I will know enough to open the door.

Questions, questions. Mercy is when God does not give us the things we fully deserve. Grace…

Something by Christopher Idle:

“His justice is full and complete, his mercy to us has no end; the clouds are a path for his feet, he comes on the wings of the wind”

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 05 2008
alaina

(thanks for linking vanessa)
being the knob holder of mercy’s door is a moment of joy from God, it means we are Mercy’s instrument. And yet when we fail to fully reflect his mercy (turning the lock if you will, being fully human as the teacher in the story) God still responds with mercy.
Ah grace. Good good grace.

30 05 2008
vanessamanchester

I couldn’t agree more. God really does trust us with so much, doesn’t He… to allow us the freedom, and privilege, of choosing whether to allow ourselves to be used in that way.

Having said that, I think the difficulty sometimes isn’t just that we open or keep shut the door for the people that God has put into our lives; rather, being able to identify, to understand, at that time, that God has made us the access to a different situation for people around us.

Does that make sense?

Leave a Reply

