Obligatory post-lunch post

29 07 2008

I had lunch with an old friend (here it is, Gerry :P) and we talked about work and life but boy oh boy that lunch was good. Shaffi’s in Yuen Long is probably the best place for Indian food.

After we said our goodbyes, I went and bought some bouncy rubber balls in the vending machines around the corner from and inside the Jumping Gym (ugh.) and I just don’t understand why nobody else seems to like them. Seriously – a dollar, or five bucks for the larger ones – they’re like pure bouncing joy. I might speak about this joy at some point in Solid Rock, or I might post about them (again) sometime. There was a little boy who was with his grandmother, and she kept trying to drag him away from the wonder that is bouncy rubber balls, and he grabbed on to the bar there and hung on. I handed him one of the Dragonball-Z ones and he grinned the happiest grin at me. That was 5 bucks well-spent, I thought. The grandmother looked gobsmacked: “Why didn’t I think of that??” or maybe she was astounded by a stranger’s gesture…

But this is the song I’ve got iTunes on repeat:

Slow Dancing In A Burning Room
It’s not a silly little moment,
It’s not the storm before the calm.
This is the deep and dying breath of,
This love that we’ve been working on.

Can’t seem to hold you like I want to,
So I can feel you in my arms.
Nobody’s gonna come and save you,
We pulled too many false alarms.

We’re going down and you can see it too.
We’re going down and you know that we’re doomed.
My dear, we’re slow dancing in a burning room.

I was the one you always dreamed of,
You were the one I tried to draw.
How dare you say it’s nothing to me,
Baby you’re the only light I ever saw.

I’ll make the most of all the sadness.
You be a bitch because you can.
You’ll try to hit me just to hurt me,
So you leave me feeling dirty cause you can’t understand.

We’re going down
And you can see it too
We’re going down
And you know that we’re doomed.

My dear, we’re slow dancing in a burning room.

Go cry about it
why don’t you?

My dear, we’re slow dancing in a burning room.

Don’t you think we ought to know by now?
Don’t you think we should’ve learned somehow?

But I heard about what happened, and it left me stunned. I guess marriage really isn’t something that can be taken on lightly, as slight and as obvious as that statement is. It’s not something that stays as it’s expected even if the people have been together for years. It left a fear in me because of the recent conversations I’ve been having with S and whether what I’ve been thinking isn’t too much for the reality of something of such a magnitude.

So I’ve been thinking that there’s nothing that speaks of marriage as much a couple, slow dancing in their own world. And this image about says it all to me.

And maybe the slow dancing thing is an antiquated perception, just like this image, which is why it’s so fitting, but it’s just so beautiful. Where the dancers’ eyes are focused on no one else but each other, and the melody sways through them, swirling in the folds of the dress, and the dancers’ hair…

Ah, but I’m a terrible dancer.

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 07 2008
woody green

dont worry you are not alone, i cant dancing too..
would you visit my blog?

29 07 2008
vanessamanchester

Thanks for your comment, Woody. I’ll go and check it out in a bit 🙂

Leave a Reply

