A lazy Sunday

10 08 2008

Came home not long ago after yum cha with my parents, and it was nice. Busy, and we ordered too much food, but nice. Right now I’m watching Brokeback Mountain (2005) for the first time, and I’m marvelling at its sumptuous views. It’s breathtaking, and tender. What’s spoken is but a fraction of what is unspoken, and that is powerful. But it’s in what cannot be spoken that I am moved. The scene where Ennis’ wife is told that he’s going up to the mountains for a couple of days with Jack, and she’s broken… it’s a wrenching scene.

I was thinking this morning which I would hate more – to be mute, deaf, or blind. I decided the last would be the worst for me, and I continued reading Love In The Time Of Cholera and nearly wept at the indecisions in the novel, the spoken vows and unspoken affections.

Partly I’m procrastinating because there’s still quite a lot to prepare for before term starts on Wednesday. I’m terrified and excited all at once. But the good thing is how much time we’ll be given over the course of the next two days to do stuff in our classrooms. I also found out that one of my friends from church will have her work station in my classroom.

So, do I feel ready yet?

Actions

Information

One response

19 08 2008
AlexM

Your blog is interesting!

Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

