What I do on a snow day

11 01 2011

Hong Kong doesn’t snow.

 

Over the past couple of weeks, the typical Hongkonger has freed their thermals and fleeces from the back of their wardrobe, and have wrapped themselves up in the ski jackets they bought for the trip all those years ago but when am I going to wear it in Hong Kong’s infernal humidity and heat?

The question being asked for this particular post wants us to write about what we do on a snow day. I’ll say what I don’t do, and that’s hibernate.

Oh, how I wish sometimes that we could just roll over in bed when the alarm goes and just, keep, sleeping… the luxury that would be. There are times when I long to be at the age of retirement, because my life would have been lived already, and the tears cried, the laughter echoing, and all the tumult of life summarised by ‘experience’.

Instead of snow days, we get typhoon days around the lazy, muggy heat of the spring and summer months. Checking the Hong Kong Observatory website for the latest update on the impending destruction is a frantic, eagerly-refreshing-the-page-every-5-seconds, process. I can’t speak for anyone else, but as soon as I hear that a typhoon is inching closer, and feel the wind picking up outside my window (I live surrounded by hills, so the wind gets caught like it’s in a bowl), plans start bursting into life in my mind: lying in bed the whole day, reading a book with a hot mug of tea on the bedside table; watching endless episodes of Friends or some other television show; working on a crafts project from scratch; painting; writing letters by hand to friends made over the years; catching up on email; planning classes; working on assignments that are due too soon; watching a movie on cable with whoever’s in the house; playing with the dogs; chatting with my dad; tidying up; going for a walk; colouring; napping; idly flipping through the pages of the last magazine I got in the mail but never got to read… the possibilities are endless.

Discovering that the typhoon is moving away gradually is like:

And we’re back to snow. I like a bit of symmetry.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

