On adapting to changes

6 04 2011

One of the things most educators will tell you, regardless of whether they teach in a local grammar school such as the ones in Hong Kong, or an international school such as the one I’m working at now, is that one of the most valuable skills you can learn is to be able to adapt to changes.

The lesson plans we develop initially go through multiple edits, and they are an entirely translucent matter of their own genre: things we deem to be appropriate for this particular class, on this day, can be completely flat in the other class on the same day, even.

This is the challenge I both love and loathe about teaching. In some ways, I wish the lesson plans I wrote in the first year of teaching were applicable across the board, but I know that that would make me a less effective teacher. Not that I am particularly efficient or effective at the moment, necessarily, but I have seen a lot of improvement in my work and in my calling. One of the key lessons I have learned as an English language and then literature teacher is that flexibility in lesson planning is indispensable in an English classroom.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

