Counselling: one year on

15 04 2011

Tonight, I went for the session that marks a year since I started getting counselling, and I realised how much progress I have made.

Key lessons I’ve learned:

  • The things that I get angry or frustrated about are not always my fault
  • What is said to me inevitably comes through a filter of some sort – mine or the speaker’s
  • Making a decision will take time and effort, but they need to be made. Once they’re made, they need to be followed through
  • Don’t over-think. If there is something worth thinking about, avoid thinking too much about it, and move on

It might not be huge, or even much of a list, but the lessons I’ve learned have been invaluable over the course of the past year, with everything that has been happening. One of the things that’s happening as a result of the counselling is that i’ll be looking at some houses tomorrow with a colleague that I’ll hopefully be sharing with next year. It’s been a huge step forward. It’s almost unbelievable though.

I still have a long way to go… but I’m getting there.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

